What's New in EmpCenter
Oregon Sick Leave - Changes to EmpCenter
See the What's New page for details about the changes to EmpCenter.
Oregon Sick Leave
Effective January 1, 2016, Oregon’s “mandatory” Sick Time Law went into effect. Unclassified employees in appointments less than .50 FTE, student employees and temporary employees (represented and non-represented) are now eligible to earn and use sick leave.
Students and Temporary Employees will accrue sick leave and record usage in EmpCenter. Highlights of the change include:
- Sick Leave will accrue at the rate of 1 hour for every 30 hours worked after January 1, 2016.
- Hours worked on Federal Work Study positions are excluded from the accrual.
- EmpCenter will be programmed to automatically accrue the time for every 30 hours worked. This was updated in EmpCenter on January 11, 2016.
- Sick leave can be used immediately after it is earned for employees that have already been employed for at least 90 calendar days; new employees can use sick leave on the 91st day of employment.
- Sick leave MUST be used in 1 hour increments.
- Sick leave can be entered directly on the timesheet or use the Time Off request in EmpCenter.
- Accrual is capped at 40 hours each fiscal year (July 1st-June 30th).
- Employees can carry over 40 hours each fiscal year.
- Usage is capped at 40 hours each fiscal year.
TRAINING: The Student/Temps Hourly User Guide has been updated with details about entering Oregon Sick Leave on the timesheet, the Oregon Sick Leave tab, and using the time off request in EmpCenter. Training modules that walk through the time off request process and entering time on the timesheet will be added soon. In addition, open labs have been scheduled for the week of January 11th. See the open lab schedule for more details.
For additional information on this new law, visit the Office of Human Resources Oregon “Mandatory” Sick Time Law webpage.
Graduate students will be added to EmpCenter in March 2016. EmpCenter training for employees and supervisors will be scheduled for late February/early March.
Unclassified employees previously ineligible for leave will begin accruing sick leave January 1, 2016 at the same rate as full time faculty pro-rated based on their appointment FTE (1.0 FTE accrue 8 hours per month). Unclassified employees will use EmpCenter to record sick leave taken and can find training on the MyTime training page for their policy profile.